The dataset has been developed for the reporting of biopsy and resection specimens for malignant primary odontogenic tumours. Malignant neoplasms arising in the nasal cavity and paranasal sinuses, oral cavity, salivary glands, trachea, pharynx and larynx are dealt with in separate datasets. Bone, soft tissue and lymphoma protocols will be separately listed. In addition, neck dissections and nodal excisions are dealt with in a separate dataset, and this dataset should be used in conjunction, where applicable.
Malignant Odontogenic Tumours Bookmarked guide - 1254 KB
Malignant Odontogenic Tumours Hyperlinked guide - 672 KB
Malignant Odontogenic Tumours Dataset in Word - 261 KB

Publication History

This dataset was developed with the kind support of the North American Society of Head and Neck Pathology (NASHNP), American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology (AAOMP), International Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathologists (IAOP) and British Society for Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology (BSOMP).

1st edition – September 2018
  • Read more on the malignant odontogenic tumours dataset from the journal article written by the dataset authors: Data set for the reporting of malignant odontogenic tumours: Explanations and recommendations of the guidelines from the international collaboration on cancer reporting (ICCR). Slootweg PJ, Odell E, Baumhoer D, Carlos R, Hunter KD, Mosqueda-Taylor A, Richardson M, Slater L, Speight P, Wright J, Thompson LDR. Arch Pathol Lab Med, 2018. doi: 10.5858/arpa.2018-0417-SA. [Epub ahead of print] 

  • To reference this dataset please use the following citation: Odell E, Baumhoer D, Carlos R, Hunter KD, Mosqueda-Taylor A, Richardson M, Slater L, Slootweg PJ, Speight P, Wright J, Thompson LDR. (2018) Malignant Odontogenic Tumours, Histopathology Reporting Guide, 1st Edition. International Collaboration on Cancer Reporting; Sydney, Australia. ISBN: 978-1-925687-23-1

Expert Committee

The Malignant Odontogenic Tumours dataset was developed by the following international team:
  • Chair - Edward Odell, UK
  • Series Champion - Lester Thompson, USA
  • ICCR  representatives  - John Srigley, Canada and David Ellis, Australia
Domain experts:
  • Daniel Baumhoer, Switzerland
  • Roman Carlos, Guatemala
  • Keith Hunter, UK
  • Adalberto Mosqueda-Taylor, Mexico
  • Mary Richardson, USA
  • Lee Slater, USA
  • Pieter Slootweg, Netherlands
  • Paul Speight, UK
  • John Wright, USA